(b) Identifies and implements measures to resolve and reduce truant behavior. Cut-off dates on the entrance age range with 28 states (including Florida) and one territory setting a date in September; eight states setting a date in August; three states setting a date in October; two states, the District of Columbia, and one territory set a date in December; two states set a date in January; and six states leave the date to the option of the local education agency. Ask about online options for when the child is sick. (c) Addresses issues of streamlining service delivery, the appropriateness of legal intervention, case management, the role and responsibility of the case staffing committee, student and parental intervention and involvement, and community action plans. They cant be missing school with unexcused absence, or theyre going to be called up to court, or theyre going to have to give me a reason why their children arent going to school.. The contents of the National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments Web site were assembled under contracts from the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Safe and Supportive Schools to the American Institutes for Research (AIR), Contract Number 91990021A0020. Information submitted to the Law Firm before an agreement, in writing signed by an attorney in the firm, will not bar the law firm from representing or continued representation of someone whos interests are adverse to yours in connection with your case. When a student exhibits two or more early warning indicators, the team, in consultation with the student's parent, shall determine appropriate intervention strategies for the student unless the student is already being served by an intervention program at the direction of a school-based, multidisciplinary team. If the student does not successfully complete the sanctions ordered in subsection (7), the case shall be referred to the case staffing committee under s. The parent, guardian, or legal custodian and the student shall participate, as required by court order, in any sanctions or services required by the court under this section, and the court shall enforce such participation through its contempt power. But we have a lot of doctor and therapy appointments! Learn about careers at Cox Media Group. This form and the accompanying guide are available online at. A school-based team responsible for implementing the requirements of this paragraph shall monitor the data from the early warning system. Seminole County's truancy numbers jumped a little more than 133 percent. Therefore, it is imperative you contact a knowledgeable defense attorney as soon as possible to discuss your options. IEP meetings and PWNs until the problem is solved. 1006.09. on truancy laws in Florida Juvenile Assessment Center of Lee County 2107 Dr. Martin Luther King Boulevard Fort Myers, FL 33901 Phone: (239) 258-3450 www.swfljac.org This brochure was prepared by the Juvenile Assessment Center of Lee County. These students may not be issued a drivers license or learner drivers license from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. All 67 school districts are transmitting data to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Your child may be allowed 5 unexcused absences within a month or 10 within a 90-day period before the school may intervene. This The Education Commission of the States provides. The district will argue that it is not, of course. Ive been to truancy court several times with clients. Your attorney needs to be familiar with your specific school districts Florida truancy laws. The parent or guardian must comply with the written notice within 3 days of receipt or you can be held liable for truancy charges. You must stay well-informed on how many absences are considered truant and what is excused vs. unexcused. Enforcement of school attendance. Parents and children are subject to penalties for truancy under this law. If a student is required by law to attend school, the school will not suspend the student for unexcused absences or truancy. The school will provide a plan of action to resolve habitual truancy, but the resolution rests mainly in your hands. | Powered by Crush The Rankings | Sitemap, Free Consultation with a Tallahassee Lawyer. If they already have a previously issued drivers license or learner drivers license, their license shall be suspended. (8) "Habitual truant" means a student who has 15 unexcused absences within 90 calendar days with or without the knowledge or consent of the student's parent, is subject to compulsory school attendance under s. 1003.21(1) and (2)(a), and is not exempt under s. 1003.21(3) or s. 1003.24, or by meeting the criteria for any other exemption specified by law or rules of the State Board of Education. In Florida, Section 1003.21 of the Florida Statutes states that all children who are 6 years old or will be 6 years old by February 1st of any school year, or who are older than six years old but have not yet turned 16, must attend school regularly during the entire school term. 4 0 obj It is the policy of the state that each district school superintendent be responsible for enforcing school attendance of all students subject to the compulsory school age in the school district and supporting enforcement of school attendance by local law enforcement agencies. Document ALL incidents of bullying if that is the issue. Past results are not a guarantee of future successes. School staff aggravates him to the point he refuses to go! In cases of truancy and habitual truancy that are referred for Child Study Team action, tardies may be recognized and calculated in the truancy instances.